A day after President-elect Joe Biden’s inauguration in Washington D.C. comes “The People’s Inauguration.”

Activist, speaker and author Valarie Kaur, together with partners Amplifier, the Revolutionary Love Project, Dream Corps and Sounds True, announced details today for the initiative meant to promote healing, justice and collective action around the presidential inauguration. It is scheduled for Jan. 21-31 and will be comprised of virtual and live events.

There’s even an oath. Participants will be encouraged to express their own version of this: “I do solemnly vow that I will faithfully execute my role in healing, reimagining, and rebuilding our country, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect, and defend dignity, justice, and joy for myself and for all around me and that I will do so with love.”

“The People’s Inauguration” will feature artists, musicians, faith leaders, and movement leaders. Programming consists of teach-ins, performances and discussions around core themes of wonder, grief, fight, rage, listen, reimagine, breathe, push, transition and joy. The participant lineup includes such names as Alysia Reiner, Aloe Blacc, America Ferrera, Cristela Alonzo, Debra Messing, Emily Tosta, Florence Pugh, Gina Belafonte, Grace Pekrul, Jamie Margolin, Maggie Wheeler, Tina Knowles-Lawson, Peppermint, Rachel Bloom, Rain Phoenix, Rashad Robinson, Rosario Dawson, Russell Craig, Taylor Schilling, Tracee Ellis Ross, Ai-jen Poo, Baratunde Thurston, Caitlin Breedlove, Deepa Iyer, Isa Noyola, Lisa Sharon Harper, Rabbi Sharon Borus, Resistance Revival Chorus, Sherrilyn Ifill, Simran Jeet Singh, Susan Raffo and Van Jones.

“It will be a celebration of what’s possible for this country,” Kaur says. “In the wake of violence, insurrection, and white supremacist terror, we are bringing people together around healing, justice, and community. We invite people to share their vision for a multi-racial America where we are all safe and free.”

More information can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *