The Fallout has earned the grand jury award in the narrative feature competition at the virtual SXSW film festival.

Megan Park is behind the feature that stars Jenna Ortega, Maddie Ziegler and Niles Fitch as high schoolers brought together by their shared experience during a school shooting rampage. In her review, The Hollywood Reporter‘s Sheri Linden wrote, “The filmmaker deftly underscores the way violence has ruptured her characters’ sheltered orbits, the awful disconnect at her story’s core.”

Elsewhere, Lily Topples the World took the top prize in the doc feature competition. Director Jeremy Workman is behind the doc, produced by Star Wars actress Kelly Marie Tran, which follows Lily Hevesh, a domino toppler with more than 3 million subscribers on YouTube.

“We are so honored by the 2021 filmmakers who entrusted their work to us for this online version of our event, and joined us on this new adventure in such a beautiful way,” said Janet Pierson, SXSW’s director of film. “We are thrilled we could launch great new projects and talent in this pandemic year, and hope the films, sessions, music and gatherings online and in virtual reality showcased the resilience, perseverance and creativity of our community.”

See the 2021 SXSW Film Festival Awards in the narrative, documentary, short films and music video categories below. Find a full list of winners here.

Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

Winner: The Fallout
Director: Megan Park

Special Jury Recognition for Multi-Hyphenate Storyteller
Directors: Kelley Kali, Angelique Molina

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance: Islands
Director: Martin Edralin
Actor: Rogelio Balagtas

Winner: Lily Topples the World
Director: Jeremy Workman

Special Jury Recognition for Exceptional Intimacy in Storytelling: Introducing, Selma Blair
Director: Rachel Fleit

Special Jury Recognition for Humanity in Social Action: Not Going Quietly
Director: Nicholas Bruckman

Short Film Grand Jury Awards

Winner: Play It Safe
Director: Mitch Kalisa

Special Jury Recognition for Visionary Storytelling: Don’t Go Tellin’ Your Momma
Directors: Topaz Jones, rubberband.

Winner: Águilas
Directors: Kristy Guevara-Flanagan, Maite Zubiaurre

Special Jury Recognition for Courage: Red Taxi
Director: Anonymous

Special Jury Recognition for Poetry: I Ran From It and Was Still in It
Director: Darol Olu Kae

Winner: The Moogai
Director: Jon Bell

Special Jury Recognition for Bold Vision: Stuffed
Director: Theo Rhys

Winner: Nuevo Rico
Director: Kristian Mercado

Special Jury Recognition for Innovation: KKUM
Director: Kang Min Kim

Special Jury Recognition for Storytelling: Your Own Bullshit
Director: Daria Kopiec

Winner: Madame Gandhi, “Waiting for Me”
Director: Misha Ghose

Special Jury Recognition for How the Hell Did They Do That?!: Waze & Odyssey, George Michael, Mary J. Blige & Tommy Theo,  “Always”
Director: Nelson de Castro

Special Jury Recognition for Pure Joy: Kuricorder Quartet, “Southpaw”
Director: Sawako Kabuki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *