Eight actors and actresses “whose noteworthy performances in film have elevated them into the national cinematic dialogue” will be feted with the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s Virtuosos Award, SBIFF announced on Tuesday.

The ceremony, which will be moderated for the 11th time by TCM host Dave Karger, will take place on Saturday, April 3 and, like the rest of the 36th edition of the film fest, which will run from March 31 through April 10, it will take place virtually.

“Even though the movie industry was turned upside down in 2020, this year’s impressive — and international — roster of Virtuosos proves that there is still a great deal of exciting rising talent delivering wonderful work,” Karger said in a statement. “I can’t wait to gather this phenomenal group and introduce them to the Santa Barbara audience.”

Previous recipients of the Virtuoso Award include Awkafina, Taron Egerton, Cynthia Erivo, Beanie Feldstein, Aldis Hodge, George MacKay, Florence Pugh, Taylor Russell, Claire Foy, Richard E. Grant, Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, John David Washington, Timothee Chalamet, John Boyega, Mary J. Blige, Daniel Kaluuya, Kumail Nanjiani, Dev Patel, Mahershala Ali, Saoirse Ronan, Casey Affleck, Viola Davis, Elizabeth Banks, Paul Dano, Chadwick Boseman, Rosamund Pike and Jared Leto.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *