Four of the five nominees for the best director Oscar at the upcoming 93rd Academy Awards — Minari‘s Lee Isaac Chung, Mank‘s David Fincher, Another Round‘s Thomas Vinterberg and Nomadland‘s Chloé Zhao — will be part of the Outstanding Directors of the Year Award tribute at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, the festival announced Tuesday.

The evening will be sponsored by The Hollywood Reporter and moderated, for the seventh time, by yours truly.

This honor was created to recognize a select group of directors who have pushed the boundaries in their storytelling and created films that showcase the art of filmmaking at its best. The four honorees will receive their awards and discuss their work on Tuesday, April 6th at 6pm PST in a live-streamed event.

“In this past difficult year, these four exemplary storytellers showed us ways to dream and reevaluate our perception of the world at large,” SBIFF executive director Roger Durling said in a statement. “They’re all rewriting cinema history, and lucky for us to get to hear them converse with one another.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *