In a departure from tradition, performances of this year’s best original song Oscar nominees will air during the Oscars pre-show, not during the main ceremony itself, the producers of the 93rd Oscars announced on Friday.

The performances will be pre-recorded ahead of the April 25 telecast. “Fight for You” (Judas and the Black Messiah), “Hear My Voice” (The Trial of the Chicago 7), “Io si (Seen)” (The Life Ahead) and “Speak Now” (One Night in Miami) will be shot on the Dolby Family Terrace of the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures in Los Angeles, while “Husavik” (Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga) will originate from Husavik, Iceland.

The upside of handling the performances this way: all five nominated songs can be performed in their entirety. They will showcase the talents of non-nominee Molly Sandén; first-time nominees Celeste, H.E.R., Leslie Odom, Jr., Laura Pausini and Daniel Pemberton; and 12-time nominee Diane Warren.

“We’ve come up with some serious pre-game and post-game action to enhance our main event,” Oscar telecast producers Jesse Collins, Stacey Sher and Steven Soderbergh said in a statement. “Our suggestion is just tune in for the whole shebang, otherwise you’ll miss something really unexpected and fun.”

The 90-minute Oscars pre-show, Oscars: Into the Spotlight, which will start on ABC at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT, will be hosted by actors Ariana DeBose (Hamilton) and Lil Rel Howery (Bad Trip) and will highlight the nominees’ journey to Hollywood’s biggest night and give fans a sneak peek into the party. The show will also feature a special appearance by DJ Tara.

After the Oscars telecast ends, a post-show, Oscars: After Dark, will air on ABC. Hosted by actors Colman Domingo (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom) and Andrew Rannells (The Prom), it will recap the ceremony’s must-see moments, show winners having their statuettes engraved and feature interviews moderated by film critic Elvis Mitchell.

Both specials will be executive-produced by Michael Antinoro and David Chamberlin, alongside producers Collins, Sher and Soderbergh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *