The all-virtual 25th Capri, Hollywood – The International Film Festival wound to a close this week, culminating with the presentation of awards recognizing 2020 films that played at the fest and that didn’t.

The Trial of the Chicago 7, Netflix’s top awards contender, was chosen for a field-leading four honors, including best picture, by a jury of prominent industry friends of the Italian fest — among them Tony Renis, Mark Canton, Bobby Moresco, Dante Ferretti, Francesco Lo Schiavo and Alessandro Bertolazzi.

The Aaron Sorkin film was also recognized with prizes for best supporting actor (Sacha Baron Cohen), best film editing and a special honor, Capri Italian-American Artist of the Year, recognizing cast member Frank Langella.

Other top-tier honors went to Nomadland‘s Chloe Zhao (best director), The Father‘s Anthony Hopkins (best actor), The Life Ahead‘s Sophia Loren (best actress), Mank‘s Amanda Seyfried (best supporting actress), Edoardo Ponti‘s script of The Life Ahead (best adapted screenplay) and Lee Isaac Chung‘s script of Minari (best original screenplay).

Pixar’s Soul was named best animated feature, the Italy-set documentary The Truffle Hunters was tapped for best documentary feature and Notturno, this year’s Italian submission for the best international feature Oscar, was recognized as the winner of the fest’s corresponding award.

A full list of winners appears below.

Best Picture — The Trial of the Chicago 7
Best Director — Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)
Best Actor — Anthony Hopkins (The Father)
Best Actress — Sophia Loren (The Life Ahead)
Best Supporting Actor — Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7)
Best Supporting Actress — Amanda Seyfried (Mank)
Best Adapted Screenplay — The Life Ahead (Edoardo Ponti)
Best Original Screenplay — Minari (Lee Isaac Chung)
Best Animated Feature — Soul
Best Documentary Feature — The Truffle Hunters
Best International Feature — Notturno (Italy)
Best Cinematography — Mank (Erik Messerschmidt)
Best Costume Design — Waiting for the Barbarians (Carlo Poggioli)
Best Film Editing — The Trial of the Chicago 7
Best Makeup and Hairstyling — I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Best Original Score — Minari
Best Original Song — “Io Si Seen” from The Life Ahead (Diane Warren, Laura Pausini and Niccolo’ Agliardi)
Best Production Design — Mank
Best Sound Editing — The United States vs. Billie Holiday
Best Sound Mixing — The United States vs. Billie Holiday
Best Visual Effects — Tenet
Capri Best Ensemble Cast Award 2020 — Da 5 Bloods (Netflix)
Capri Producers of The Year Award 2020 — Tucker Tooley and Lee Daniels (The United States vs. Billie Holiday)
Capri Italian-American Artist of The Year — Frank Langella (The Trial of the Chicago 7)
Capri King of Comedy Award 2020 — Andy Samberg (Palm Springs)


European Feature of the Year — Notturno (Gianfranco Rosi)
European Director of the Year — Thomas Vinterberg (Another Round)
European Actor of the Year — Mads Mikkensen (Another Round)
European Actress of the Year — Vanessa Kirby (Pieces of a Woman)
European Documentary of the Year Award — Collective (Alexander Nanau)
European Short Cut — Silence (Sean Lìonadh)
European Original Score — Berlin Alexanderplatz di Burhan Qurban (Dascha Dauenhauer)
Mediterranean Cinema Award — Chedly (Francesco Castellaneta)
Italian Producer Of The Year — Donatella Palermo (Notturno)
Peppino Patroni Griffi Award — Antonio Capuano
Actor of the Year — Elio Germano (Volevo nascondermi)
Actor of the Year — Teresa Saponangelo (Il colpo in testa)
Italian Worldwide Award by Nuovo Imaie — Salvatore Esposito (Fargo)
Italian Worldwide Award — Matilda De Angelis (The Undoing)
Art Award — Claudio Noce (Padrenostro)
Art Award — Susanna Nicchiarelli (Miss Marx)
Future Award — Mattia Garaci (Padrenostro)
Film-Maker of the Year Award — Pietro Castellitto (I predatori)
Cult Award — La verità su La dolce vita di Giuseppe Pedersoli
Cult Award — The Rossellinis di Alessandro Rossellini
Commedia Italiana dell’anno — 7 giorni per farti innamorare
Breakout Director of the Year Award — Gipo Fasano (Le Eumenidi)
People Award — Dito Montiel
Biopic Docu Award — Paolo Conte – Via con me (Giorgio Verdelli)
TV Series of the Year — Vivi e lascia vivere (Pappi Corsicato)
Fashion Award — Francesco Scognamiglio


Music Award — Clementino
Music Award — Elodie
Exploit Award — Gaia
Exploit Award — Bugo
Breakout Artist of The Year — Diodato


Vanessa Bryant, Stefano Lucchini and Danilo Iervolino

Premi CAPRI SPECIAL CONTEST — Critical Thinking (John Leguizamo)
Sezione The Italian Job — Una Nuova Prospettiva di Emanuela Ponzano
Sezione Working Authors — Finis Terrae di Tommaso Frangini
Mediometraggio — Dusk Di Ujaal Paul
Documentario — Dear Child di Luca Ammendola

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *