Mariah Carey, George C. Wolfe, Netflix and the Oscar-shortlisted documentary feature All In: The Fight for Democracy will be the recipients of the African American Film Critics Association’s special achievement awards at its 12th annual AAFCA Awards, the organization announced on Tuesday.

The ceremony will take place virtually on April 7.

“In addition to being the world’s largest group of Black film critics, AAFCA is an advocacy group championing diversity and inclusion throughout the industry, with special attention paid to those who help to elevate Black stories, as well as increase Black representation across the board,” AAFCA said in a statement. “The special achievement awards were created with these goals in mind.”

The organization, which was co-founded by Gil Robertson, who remains its president and CEO, will fete Carey, the chart-topping singer/songwriter, withits special achievement innovator award; Wolfe, the director of Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, with its salute to excellence; Netflix, the streaming service, with its Cinema Vanguard prize “for fostering a global tribe rooted in bringing all people together across various languages and continents through the power of cinema”; and All In, a film about voter suppression and activist Stacey Abrams, with its Stanley Kramer Award for Social Justice, a selection that was made in consultation with Kramer’s widow, Karen.

Past AAFCA special achievement honorees include Channing Dungey, Carl Reiner, Quincy Jones, Jason Blum, Edward James Olmos, George Lucas, Sidney Poitier, Jon Chu and Cicely Tyson among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *